CMA Awards 2023 nominations revealed

    Leading the pack is the remarkable Lainey Wilson, securing an impressive nine nominations, including highly coveted categories like Entertainer of the Year, Single of the Year, and Album of the Year.

    The excitement is building in the country music world as the nominations for the 57th annual CMA Awards were unveiled today (Thursday 7 September).

    Lainey Wilson, known for her hit "Watermelon Moonshine," not only tops the list of nominees this year but also creates history as the sole artist to lead the nominations list in her first two appearances on the final ballot. Last year, Wilson dazzled as a first-time nominee with six nods.

    Following closely behind, Jelly Roll emerges with an impressive five nominations in key categories like Single of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Musical Event of the Year, Music Video of the Year, and New Artist of the Year.

    Joining the league of top nominees with four nominations each are Luke Combs and HARDY, solidifying their presence in the country music spotlight. Meanwhile, other notable artists securing three nominations apiece include Jordan Davis, Ashley McBryde, Chris Stapleton, and Morgan Wallen.

    The race for the highly coveted Entertainer of the Year award promises to be a thrilling competition, featuring luminaries such as Luke Combs, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood, and Morgan Wallen.

    The 57th annual CMA Awards, hosted by two-time CMA entertainer of the year Luke Bryan and NFL superstar Peyton Manning, are set to dazzle audiences at Nashville's Bridgestone Arena on November 8, 2023. The star-studded event will be broadcast live on ABC at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, promising a night of unforgettable performances and celebrations in the heart of country music.


    Full list of nominations:

    Entertainer of the year

    • Luke Combs
    • Chris Stapleton
    • Carrie Underwood
    • Morgan Wallen
    • Lainey Wilson


    Single of the year

    • “Fast Car” – Luke Combs (Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton, Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews)
    • “Heart Like A Truck” – Lainey Wilson (Producer: Jay Joyce, Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce)
    • “Need A Favor” – Jelly Roll (Producer: Austin Nivarel, Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun)
    • “Next Thing You Know” – Jordan Davis (Producer: Paul DiGiovanni, Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley)
    • “wait in the truck” – HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Producers: HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells, Mix Engineer: Joey Moi)

    Album of the year

    • “Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville” -- Ashley McBryde
    • “Bell Bottom Country” -- Lainey Wilson
    • “Gettin' Old” -- Luke Combs
    • “One Thing At A Time” -- Morgan Wallen
    • “Rolling Up the Welcome Mat” -- Kelsea Ballerini

    Song of the year

    • “Fast Car” -- Songwriter: Tracy Chapman
    • “Heart Like A Truck” -- Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson
    • “Next Thing You Know” -- Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne
    • “Tennessee Orange” -- Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams
    • “wait in the truck” -- Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt


    Female vocalist of the year

    • Kelsea Ballerini
    • Miranda Lambert
    • Ashley McBryde
    • Carly Pearce
    • Lainey Wilson


    Male vocalist of the year

    • Luke Combs
    • Jelly Roll
    • Cody Johnson
    • Chris Stapleton
    • Morgan Wallen


    Vocal group of the year

    • Lady A
    • Little Big Town
    • Midland
    • Old Dominion
    • Zac Brown Band


    Vocal duo of the year


    • Brooks & Dunn
    • Brothers Osborne
    • Dan + Shay
    • Maddie & Tae
    • The War And Treaty


    Musical event of the year

    • “Save Me” -- Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson) (Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens)
    • “She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)” -- Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina (Producer: Zach Crowell)
    • "Thank God” -- Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown) (Producer: Dann Huff)
    • “wait in the truck” -- HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Producers: HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells)
    • “We Don't Fight Anymore” -- Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton) (Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce)


    Musician of the year

    • Jenee Fleenor
    • Paul Franklin
    • Rob McNelley
    • Derek Wells
    • Charlie Worsham


    Music video of the year

    • “Light On In The Kitchen” -- Ashley McBryde (Director: Reid Long)
    • “Memory Lane” -- Old Dominion (Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher)
    • “Need A Favor” -- Jelly Roll (Director: Patrick Tohill)
    • “Next Thing You Know” -- Jordan Davis (Director: Running Bear)
    • “wait in the truck” -- HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Director: Justin Clough)


    New artist of the year

    • Zach Bryan
    • Jelly Roll
    • Parker McCollum
    • Megan Moroney
    • Hailey Whitters

    More from Country News

    Recently Played